A penny for your thoughts

The post that I had in mind when I started The Syllabus Sea was about Hallowe’en, so for Assignment 3 I decided to write about Easter.

Happy Easter

As a child Easter meant purple to me – Cadbury’s chocolate and church decorations.  We used to decorate twigs with special decorations that mum had collected when we’d lived in Germany.  We boiled up hens eggs with coloured dye and spent hours adding painted patterns.  Then on Easter Sunday we searched the garden for hidden chocolate eggs before being trooped off to church. I passed these traditions on to my children.

Easter also reminds me of a shopping trip with my mum .  We went to one of her favourite shopping outlets but she didn’t remember where anything was, wanted to buy bizarre things and she kept wandering off.  It was like shopping with a  child. Not long afterwards she was diagnosed with a form of vascular dementia.  We never went shopping again.

Looking over both posts I think what I had in mind was to preserve family memories for myself and my children because one day I might not be able to remember them myself.

Marie

7 thoughts on “A penny for your thoughts

  1. I absolutely loved reading your blog. It bought a tear to my eye when you mentioned the shopping trip with your mum, as I am also in the same situation with my mum. Memories are so precious. I love your theme and it’s colours as well. Many thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

