Decorating the Christmas Tree

Christmas tree

Decorating the tree marks the start of Christmas in this house.  Opening the box of decorations is magical. I collect decorations. I’m always on the lookout for them when I visit somewhere new. You’d be surprised where you find them. I  have some from places as diverse as Sea World in Florida, the Houses of Parliament in London, the Black Forest  and  Dingle, the most westerly point in Eire, to name but a few. As I unpack each decoration memories flood back – salt dough decorations made by my pre-school children, a myriad of holidays and trips and even one which was bought with my Mum on what turned out to be out last ever shopping trip though, of course, we didn’t know it at the time.

Marie

3 thoughts on “Decorating the Christmas Tree

  1. When my mother was alive she always had such special Christmas decorations too, I remember she had some little birds that hung on the tree all made of mirrored glass, some tiny victorian scrolls that had little Christmas songs on them and a variety of other special ones as well. Everywhere looks different at Christmas and it brings with it a lot of good cheer at such a special time of year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

