Kofta with Tomato & Chilli Salad

We had an old favourite for supper tonight. I’ve been making Koftas for as long as I can remember.  The recipe is slightly different every time depending on what I have in the store cupboards, fridge and how much time I have.  The quantities I’ve given are only a rough guide – I don’t usually weigh anything for this, which really annoyed my Knight in Shining Armour when he decided he wanted to learn how to make them.

Kofta

(serves 2/3 as a main meal  4 as a starter)

Ingredients

Kofta

400g lean lamb mince

1 large onion – chopped

1 tbsp mango chutney

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp corriander

1 tbsp mint

Tomato & Chilli Salad

4 large tomatoes

1 large onion

1 or 2 large green chillies

squeeze of lemon or lime

drizzle of olive oil

1. Put all the ingredients for the Koftas in a bowl. Be flexible – if I have no fresh mint I use mint sauce, if I have  a fresh mango I use that and increase the spices. Depending on who is eating it I sometimes add chopped chilli.

2. Mix all the ingredients together with your fingers. If I’m in a hurry I zap it all in the food processor.

3. Shape into balls with wet fingers.

4. Put into a hot oven about 180°C for about 20 minutes.  I usually check after 15.

5. If I have time I skin and de-seed the tomatoes.

6. Chop tomatoes, onions and chillies very finely. I take as much time as I can doing this because I don’t like eating large chunks of raw chilli. If I have fresh coriander I add a handful.

7. Mix the lemon/lime juice with the olive oil and drizzle over salad.

8. I served this with Pershwari Naan bread or rice.

Marie

3 thoughts on “Kofta with Tomato & Chilli Salad

  1. Pingback: Meal Planning Monday | The Syllabub Sea

  2. Pingback: Meal Planning Monday 4.11.13 | The Syllabub Sea

  3. Pingback: Spicy Lamb Kofta Tagine | The Syllabub Sea

Leave a comment