January’s budget derailed.

Oh dear! It’s been a while since I posted.  Mainly because I am back at work and that seems to take over everything.  Think I need to make an extra  New Year’s resolution about making time to blog.

I was doing well on the budgeting front until yesterday when the optician’s appointment booked for me by my Knight in Shining Armour (because I’d been putting it off) cost me nearly £300 (that’s why I’d been putting it off).  I’d need to have gone sooner or later because I can’t read the minute writing they use for ingredients and cooking instructions.  The rest of January now needs to be full of no spending  days.  As you know, I’m new to budgeting and frugal living so this will be quite a challenge. Barring emergencies, I might just be able to do it because I’ve been cooking extra and freezing it in the hope of having a no shopping week at the end of the month.   One of my favourite recipes for this variation of  Coq au Vin  (my Knight in Shining Armour doesn’t like mushrooms)

Coq au Vin

Ingredients

coq-au-vin ingredients

4 chicken breasts

8 rashers of back bacon (I had no lardons today.)

300 g shallots – peeled

424 ml chicken stock

1 large glass of red wine

1 tblsp sauce flour or corn flour

  1. Brown the bacon on the hob in a large casserole dish.
  2. Add the shallots and brown in bacon fat.
  3. Add the chicken breasts.
  4. Mix  the sauce flour with the  wine and stock.
  5. Add to casserole.
  6. Season.
  7. Transfer to a hot oven for 30 to 40 minutes.

(Traditional Coq au Vin would include garlic and mushrooms, mine doesn’t  because My Knight in Shining Armour doesn’t like them.)

coq-au-vin

I usually serve this with mashed potato because I like it to soak up the juices and French beans (although I had run out this week) but it’s nice with rice as well.  Whatever is left over I freeze.  I take it out on the morning of the day I am going to use it to defrost  and reheat until it is piping hot.

Marie

3 thoughts on “January’s budget derailed.

  1. Pingback: Meal Planning Monday | The Syllabub Sea

  2. Pingback: Meal Planning Monday | The Syllabub Sea

  3. Pingback: Meal Planning Monday 11.11.13 | The Syllabub Sea

Leave a Reply

