Eggnog

advent-day-10Day 10 brings Eggnog, (between the fireplace and the window on the right) popular in American and Canada, known as Lait de Poule in French.  I’d never tried it so when I found an old  recipe of my Mum’s I decided to give it a go, despite her instructions being a bit sketchy,

eggnog

Eggnog

(serves 8)

300ml whole milk

3 eggs

4-5 tbsp caster sugar

1tbsp vanilla extract

250ml brandy

150ml single cream

  1. Heat milk.
  2. Whisk egg yolks and sugar together.
  3. Add vanilla and brandy.
  4. Add cream slowly.
  5. Pour in hot milk.
  6. Fold whisked egg whites into mixture.

It was light and fluffy, which surprised me because I was expecting something custardy.

Marie reduced

 

Leave a Reply

