My Fennel and Tomato Risotto

Hi!

St Andrew’s night already!  When I was at  school, in Bonnie Scotland, we used to look forward to a St Andrew’s night school dance.  Scottish country dances only – we’d be practising our “pah-d’-bahs” for weeks. Still, a welcome break from the monotony of boarding school life and even more exciting the upper and lower sixth had a dance with boys from the school up the road. Boys on the premises  – a very rare occurrence in that school!  Now I’m all grown up and living in England St Andrew’s night isn’t even on my radar until I write the date on my board.

The last week or so has been very frugal in our house after I went mad with my early Christmas preparations and overspent November’s budget. I still struggle with managing my money in my new down-sized life, but then it never was a strong point.  I am, believe it or not, improving! This time I did notice before much financial damage was done and stopped spending.  This has meant I’ve been cooking from my store cupboard and freezer.  This  variation of a Riverford risotto  was a great success.   A very  tasty and filling  way to  use up  some vegetables.

rissotto1

My Fennel & Tomato Risotto

(makes 2 generous portions)

Knob of butter

Splash of olive oil

½ a medium bulb of fennel

bunch on cherry tomatoes – 14 or 15 – deseeded

about 150g of Arborio rice (I think)

1 chicken stock cube

Grated cheddar (all I had left in the fridge.)

  1.  Heat the butter and oil in a heavy plan. Gently cook the fennel until it is soft and  turning golden.
  2. Add the risotto rice and stir for 2-3 minutes. Add the tomatoes then gradually stir in  the stock a little at a time, until the risotto is tender (about 20-25 minutes).
  3. Add  cheese and stir.

rissotto2

Enjoy.

Marie reduced

One thought on “My Fennel and Tomato Risotto

  1. Pingback: meal planning monday 9.12.13 | The Syllabub Sea

Leave a Reply

